My Core Story

December 31 – Core Story. What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world?

What’s my central story? Perhaps this won’t be a surprise to those who know me well, or maybe you gathered this from the 30 previous posts I’ve written.

I am an overachiever who doesn’t give up and wants to be known for something important.

Looking back on this blogging journey through 2010 it rings out loud and true:

  • I decided to get my M.A. and Ph.D. at one of the most rigorous Communication programs in the country;
  • I want to be published in a top-tiered journal, preferably before I go out on the job market;
  • I use academic conferences as mini-vacations to travel across the country and around the world;
  • I over analyze my relationship with my significant other;
  • “Achievement” is my word of 2010;
  • I sing songs for people (even strangers) because I enjoy being praised;
  • I won’t give up my name, even if it’s for a day;
  • I get so engrossed in my work that I forget to keep in touch with people;
  • I engage in social media to expand my network and increase my expertise; and
  • I take pride in my accomplishments, but never feel like they are good enough.

Wow, so how’s that for introspective?

How will I share my story with the world? Keep doing what I have been doing I suppose. Continue to work hard, be the best teacher/scholar/student that I can be, and remain motivated and ambitious. There’s a reason why I don’t want to be another person, even if it’s just for a day – I am confident that I will “make it” and all of the hard work will finally pay off.

About Rowena Winkler

Passionate Performer, Speaker and Writer by Calling, Dancer of All Good Beats, Yoga Practitioner and Enthusiast, Spiritual Trustee of the Universe, Traveler of Many Distant Lands, Lover of Derek the Logical but Amiable, Mother of Eponine/Dex/Teyla, Architect of Spoken Word Poetry, Trainer in the Craft of Communication, Unapologetic Individual, First of Her Name.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment